President's Report

A wonderful, unique MCR community

"A significant part of the special something" has been the enthusiasm and hard work of the MCR committees."

rinity Hall may be the best college in Cambridge. I have held this same view since I first arrived here, but while originally this was merely the result of that well-known combination of familiarity and obliviousness that befalls any newcomer, it may now, after three years in Cambridge, have some semblance of an objective opinion. Something about this place results in a wonderful, unique MCR community every year. Other colleges, too, have their charms, but it seems they cannot quite match what we have.

Becoming President of the MCR has been very exciting and has allowed me to peek behind the curtains a bit. It has also given me an appreciation for the fact that a significant part of the 'special something' has been the enthusiasm and hard work of the MCR committees. And I can say with some certainty that our committee, too, has worked with that same enthusiasm. Between getting the Wychfield gym equipped with weights and a cable machine, an elaborate Freshers' Week, founding the very popular Winetasting Society, and putting on elaborate superhalls and events, we have a lot we can point to. Without sounding too grandiose, this enthusiasm, perhaps, also made up for the fact that our physical MCR was being refurbished last year and we had to make do with a temporary solution, which the College generously provided.

Getting to know the new cohort, my third MCR, has truly been a pleasure and I look forward to the remainder of this year.



MCR Committee 2022/23

President: Nicholas Waltz (2021)

Vice-President:

Stéphen Theron-Grimaldi (2022)

Treasurer: Zhengyao Mark An (2021)

Secretary: Asker Kurt-Elli (2022)

Academic Officer: Joy Edwards-Hicks
Otso Arponen

Entertainment Officer (External): Jeffrey Opreij (2022)

Entertainment Officer (Internal): Emily Shaw (2022)

International Officer: Maximilian Volmar (2022)

JCR Graduate Representative: Daniil Lozner (2019)

Green and Ethical Affairs Officer: Stuart Linley

Welfare and Disabilities Officer: Natasha Chugh (2022)

Gender Officer: Antonia Netzl (2021)

Ethnic Diversity Officer: Anthony Aderogba (2021)

Alumni Officers: Joe Newman (2022) Jordi Ferrer Orri (2018)

Post-Doc Representative: Rob Wiseman

Computing Officers: Grace Varnham (2022) Melissa Parsons (2022)

Steward: Jake Bransgrove (2022)

LGBT+ Officer: Alexander Payne (2022)